Project Made 217/218 – Owl & Cupcakes

A dual post as I waited a little too late to post yesterday.

 

Day 217
Polymer Clay Owl

 

When I opened up my print shop on Etsy, I wanted something a little more exciting than just “Joel Robison Photography” as a store name. I decided a while back that if I ever got around to opening up an etsy shop that the name should be “The Owl and Gnome” and I liked it so much that I used it for my shop. Buisness has been going pretty good in the month that I’ve been open, it’s a great way to get my name out and make some money on the side to help pay for more photography adventures!  I want to make a little diorama/figure set of an Owl and a Gnome to use if/when I go to farmers markets/art shows etc….so I made this prototype owl as a test. I kind of love his long legs.

 

Day 218
Chocolate Cupcakes

I had a craving for cupcakes…actually for anything sweet and these seemed like the perfect idea :)
Recipe is from all recipes, modified to include cocoa powder.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, warmed until liquid
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease two 12 cup muffin pans or line with 18 paper baking cups.
  2. Measure the apple cider vinegar into a 2 cup measuring cup. Fill with almond milk to make 1 1/2 cups. Let stand until curdled, about 5 minutes. In a large bowl, Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the almond milk mixture, coconut oil and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until blended. Spoon the batter into the prepared cups, dividing evenly.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until the tops spring back when lightly pressed, 15 to 20 minutes. Cool in the pan set over a wire rack. When cool, arrange the cupcakes on a serving platter. Frost with desired frosting.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Annalise
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 20:37:26

    I love the combined look of the skinny little legs and the pudgy, ball-like body. He looks perfectly imperfect, and very cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

