Day 220 – Mind Map Journal

I have a tendency to overthink things, and I have a terrible habit of fixating on ideas or thoughts or plans or lists, letting them swirl around in my headspace until I get a headache. Not good.  I remembered last summer when one of my Otesha-mates, Tyler, started to do a mind-map; a visual list of ideas branching off of one another. I followed suit, using my mind-map as a way to journal the every little details of our trip (where we stayed, kilometre’s per day, even how many showers I had).  Lately I’ve been finding my brain full of ideas regarding photography and where I want to take it and what photos I want to create but instead of being organized, I let it all cloud my brain. Enter…mind-mapping.

I made this little journal from an empty cereal-type box, some graph paper and string.  It’s simple construction, just fold the cover in half, cut the inside paper to fit and fold that in half and sew it up the middle. So far my journal has helped me clear out my brain-clutter and write down themes and ideas so that they don’t have to spend eternity in my head!

Here’s a look at the journal itself:

 

Here’s a before/after of the photo I did today.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bradi Wells
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 18:50:45

    Haha, love this!

    Reply

  2. vasilixa
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 05:27:19

    круто!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

