Project Made Day 223 – Rhubarb Tea

This blog has slowly turned into a food blog and not a well maintained one at that, I’m trying to keep on top of things but it’s hard with summer and extra work and all that stuff. Anyways enough about that, let’s get to the good stuff.

Last week I got an email from Freecycle stating that someone in Cranbrook had a bunch of rhubarb to give away. I love the concept of free-cycle, essentially it’s a mailing list in which you post things you don’t need and people that want it email you and take it off your hands, but rarely are their items that I need/want. Rhubarb however, I was interested in. The best part was the lady lives a block away and she’ll have some more ready for me soon!

I wanted to make something a little out of the ordinary with the rhubarb that I got. I’ve made pies and sauces and muffins before but I wanted to try something different. After a quick look on Pinterest.com (my new obsession) I found this recipe for Rhubarb Tea which looked and sounded good. The recipe was easy and it turned out pretty good, if you like rhubarb you’ll like this drink.

Recipe:
6-8 large stalks of rhubarb
7 cups of water (you want a cup for every stalk)
1/4 cup of sugar
lemon juice

Method:
1. Chop rhubarb into small pieces and place in pot with water. Bring to a boil and simmer for half  an hour.
2. Strain the water into a bowl or pitcher and add sugar and lemon juice, cool for at least 2 hours.

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ginn
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 12:23:12

    I think I might try that one. What’s this freecycle thing?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

