Day 224 -Gnomes

This project is a few weeks old, and I have been meaning to post it for a few days now. Oops!

I was particularly troubled and saddened by the events that happened in Norway last month. Saddened not only because of the horrible things that happened but also because it happened to a beautiful, peaceful nation that my family immigrated to Canada from. I know that in the world, horrible events happen all the time; earthquakes, famine, airplane crashes but until the attack in Norway I had never really felt a strong connection or tie to what was happening. Yes it’s heartbreaking to read about Japan, Haiti and Libya and in no way do I think that those stories are any less tragic or important. For me, my Norwegian heritage has always been important and to see a part of my life affected by a negative action really bothered me. I did what I tend to do when I’m feeling stressed or without words. I created. I made some Gnomes ( I think my love of Gnomes must be the Scandinavian in me!) and took this photo as a visual representation of how I felt at the time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bradi Wells
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 18:49:23

    Fantastic picture – definitely worth seeing large.

    I just stumbled on this blog, and have been scanning through past entries… I hope you keep it up, I love the project so far.

    Reply

  2. Raven Whitman
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 11:00:22

    Hi – It’s Raven from Vegan Culinary Institute. After finally getting across the country and cleaning and painting my new kitchen, I am itching to cook. i am check with all the participants in the La Dolce Vegan Cooking Challenge to see if you are willing to start on Sept 1 instead of waiting until October. Please let me know. Thanks Raven. veganculinaryinstitute@gmail.com

    Reply

  3. twoveganboys
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 13:29:19

    I love love love gnomes. Thanks for stopping by our page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

