Day 1 – Sock Monkey

So today marks the first day of my 365 project and while I’m excited to spend the next year creating various different things, I’m also realizing how time consuming this is going to be, I’m hoping that my motivation remains high and that I balance the larger projects out with some easier ones.  With that said, I present you with today’s project….a sock monkey!

Let it be known that I am no expert at sewing, which is quite evident by the many random snags and strings but nonetheless I am quite happy with how he turned out, I decided to give him a tie so that he’d always be ready for formal friday. The materials used for the monkey were all recycled, the only material I purchased was the fibre-fill for the inside but I got it the thrift store so it’s all good.

Tutorial I (loosely) followed is here, although there are bazillions of tutorials all over the web.

Materials:  pair of socks, thread, needle, fibre-fill, felt, buttons
Cost: $1
Time: 2.5 hours (due to my poor sewing skills and frequent lapses in attention)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keely
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 19:41:24

    Right on Joel!
    He’s a beautiful sock monkey : )

    Reply

  2. barb
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 22:26:23

    He looks a little stuffy to me, ha ha. I like his ears and the peeled banana prop

    Reply

  3. rachel f.
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 00:28:36

    his happy little face is perfect!

    Reply

  4. dorepan
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 06:46:56

    he’s so cute 🙂 his smile makes me smile ~~~
    love how his tie is BLUE! yes, BLUE *excited!* 😄

    fyi, I’m not good at sewing either ~ >””<

    PAn~

    Reply

  5. Mandii
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 03:48:02

    nawwwwwwwww that is absolutely adorable! good luck with all your projects, I sincerely hope you make it to 365 🙂

    Reply

  6. Nicolette
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 23:42:44

    love it! I am going to make my nephew one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

