Day 8 – Wine Markers

Well I’ve made it! The first week has passed and I haven’t even missed a day yet and so far all the projects have turned out pretty cool. I have the next few weeks roughly planned out and I can’t wait to start on some the projects, some of them are going to be TASTY!

I also think I’ve come up with a plan regarding my Etsy shop and some of the projects that I’m making. At the end of the month I’ll be selling small “grab bags of the month” featuring a smattering of the projects that I’ve created that month. For instance, in September you could purchase “grab bag” including a set of bookmarks, a cassette book, some wine charms and a few suprise items. I’ll try it out and if it goes well, I’ll keep it up!

Now on to today’s project, Wine Markers!  I had a few ideas for this one (a set of Alice in Wonderland themed charms, a ‘Friends’ themed set) but ultimately when it came down to it, I heard “Super Mario Brothers”. Literally, I heard Scott start up the game and it gave me some cool ideas so that’s what I went with, a Super Mario Wine Marker set!

They were quite quick to make, I used my stash of polymer clay and some random wire that was in my “craft bin of mystery”. After some “research” on what the items actually looked like, I sculpted them and then simply baked them for 30 minutes on a low heat!  I still have to spray them with a gloss/sealer but here are some pictures, I made a Bomb-omb, a Pipe Pirhana, a Mushroom, and Yoshi’s Egg!

Materials: Polymer Clay, Wire
Cost: $0
Time: 1 hour (including baking time)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginn
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 05:04:53

    Um. I want those! *loves*

    Reply

  2. Mandii
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 12:02:01

    They are soooo cute! 😀

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 14:18:28

    Joel, you are amazing! I’ve been following since Day 1 and I’ll still be here on Day 365! Good luck on your quest, and I can’t wait to see some of those grab bags!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

