Day 10 – Bike Frame Tattoo

When I first purchased my new (to me) bike back in March from a nice older man in Victoria I was so excited to go for a nice long bike ride on it. As soon as I stepped my foot on the pedal I knew what his name should be. SAM. Now, some people think it’s named after a person (it’s not), I sometimes tell people it stands for Super Awesome Machine but really, that’s just his name. No reason, it just felt right. Shortly after that first ride I knew that I wanted to have SAM’s name put onto the frame. I wasn’t sure if I would get a decal made or if I would get it painted, I just knew that I wanted it on there.

After a quick google search, originally to find out how to paint over scratches, I discovered that you can use enamel paints (such a paints used to work on model cars) to do small touch-ups on a bike frame. One idea led to another and *BAM* I knew how to give SAM his own “tattoo”.

It was pretty easy really, I just found a font that I liked and that went with the other lettering on the frame and then printed it a few times on a sheet of sticker paper. I used a box-cutter to cut out the letters and then stuck the stencil on the frame, making sure there wasn’t any way the paint could bleed through the edges. After a quick coat of paint and a few minutes to air dry, I peeled off the stencil and SAM’s new ink was done!

Materials: sticker paper, box-cutter, enamel paint
Cost: $5 for paint
Time: about 30 minutes

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rae
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 02:22:48

    sam is looking miiiighty fine now! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 03:23:50

    So handsome! I think Sam and Sarah Cervello should get together. The Opus still doesn’t have a name. I just call it ‘the Opus’ like ‘the dog’ or ‘the twins’. But the Bianchi, the Gary Fisher, and the Specialized don’t have names either so no hard feelings. I think I might call the Bianchi Ophelia though. We’ll see if her new rims suit the name. Geez, naming your kids is a hard job.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 21:24:15

    I love this Joel! I love your creative side and your fun loving nature. I look forward to each new project everyday!! Keep up the amazing work!! XOXO

    Reply

  4. sam :)
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 18:42:33

    LOL, this is great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

