Day 11 – Hanging Gnome

I have a thing for Gnomes, I think they’re really cool and I wish I had an actual garden so I could have a whole bunch of them just hanging out amongst the tomatoes and carrots. But, I don’t have a garden, I only have potted plants so I got to thinking “That shouldn’t stop me from having my own Gnome-army” so began the inspiration for today’s project.

It was quite simple to make actually, just using polymer clay I formed the basic shape for the gnome, curling the top of his hat around a terra cotta pot and then baking it in the oven for about 25 minutes until it was hard. After some touch-ups and giving him a wee sign to hold (great for labelling your indoor herb garden) he was all done!

 

There may be a possibility for a side project with gnomes like this, I was thinking perhaps starting a new “geurilla gnome project” where I randomly place these tiny gnomes in people’s potted plants for them to discover later!

Materials: polymer clay
Cost: $0
Time: 45 minutes (including baking time)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. haven
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 19:13:42

    Well, I feel like a total stalker because I don’t know you, but this blog and the idea behind it is amazing and inspiring! I came across one of your photos on flickr through explore a while ago and then I found the link for this, and I gotta say your photography is freakin’ amazing! Anyways, sorry for being such a stalker. Bye.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:55:15

    LOVE the idea for leaving gnomes in potted plants, ready to spring some unexpected joy on someone! Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

