Day 12 – Chocolate Ice Cream

Ah, Sunday. What better day than today to whip up a new edible project? Truthfully it wasn’t the perfect day to make a batch of ice cream, the sun was hidden behind a veil of grey clouds and I could feel the fall chill through the open windows but I’m trying to stay on track with my calendar and in today’s square it clearly said “Ice Cream”.

I must have searched for an hour for a simple, cheap and quick recipe for ice cream that doesn’t use an ice cream maker. I didn’t actually intend on making vegan ice cream until I came across a recipe that called for coconut milk instead of regular milk and I thought that it sounded the most intruiging. After a lot of browsing and rechecking of ingredients I finally settled on one recipe for Chocolate-Banana Ice Cream.

The recipe was indeed simple, throw all the ingredients into a blender and blend well. Then (if you have a machine, stick it in there) pour the mixture into a chilled bowl or a large ziplock bag and put it in the freezer. Every 20 minutes or so stir the ice cream/smoosh the bag around until you reached the desired consistencey. I think I left mine in the freezer for about 4 hours and it was at a nice “soft serve” texture. The taste was also really nice, the coconut flavour is subtle, as was the chocolate and the banana was the most intense flavour. I’m assuming you could omit the banana and add in any other type of fruit.

Here’s my adaptation of the recipe:
1 can of Coconut Milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup soy creamer
1/4 cup chocolate syrup
1 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 banana

Step 1: mix all ingredients into blender, blend until smooth.
Step 2: place in chilled bowl or freezer bag and place in freezer. Stir every 20 minutes until you reach desired consistency.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 01:35:18

    Yum! That sounds delicious, I may have to try it! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Leanne
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 16:05:15

    mmmmmmmm… that looks delic… I have been making my own ice cream lately and its super tastey… but it is also rock solid when its frozen…. maybe i shall try this recipe…. Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

