Day 14 – Reusable Sandwich Bag

Did you know that Canadians use more than 9 BILLION plastic bags per yer? That’s crazy and there really isn’t a need for it. I mean, we have the capacity to make reusable bags (and many people do use them) so why not make THEM the standard? It’s not only shopping bags either, there are lots of other kinds that used on a daily basis which brings me to today’s project. I must admit I do love a good PB&J sandwich and I like to take them to work or on a hike with me but I don’t want to have to use a plastic bag to carry them in (and containers are sometimes bulky). Enter, the cloth sandwhich bag.

I looked up many different tutorials on how to make a reusable bag. Some were complex with pockets and designs and hidden sleeves. Some were simple, basically a hankerchief with some velcro. Some had vinyl or mylar inserts while others were all cloth. I chose a simple pouch design with no plastic insert, so when it comes time for a cleaning I can just throw it in the wash.  The tutorial I used was here:  Tutorial

Now I’m off to enjoy a quick sandwich before bed!

Materials: fabric, velcro strip
Cost: $0
Time: 45 minutes

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christine Anderson
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 04:32:36

    Hey, look up making oil cloth and waxed cloths. Great alternatives to plastic. I just made a bunch of test bread bags for our home made bread. They are working so well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

