Day 16 – Bird Feeder

Last winter I remember reading an article on how in the winter months, many small birds that don’t migrate south end up starving in the snowy forests because they can’t find enough sources of food. That message had stuck with me since and I knew that I wanted to try and provide a little nourishment to the feathered creatures so making a birdfeeder was a natural choice.

I didn’t really want anything too fancy since I was going to do some “geurilla birdfeeding” and place my feeder in the community forest. I figured that a flashy feeder would probably attract some attention of the non-bird variety and that’s not what I was going for. I also thought that since I was placing this feeder in a natural environment that it should be made of materials that wouldn’t harm the ecosystem if it were to fall apart, blow away, get eaten. I found a few different designs (including one made from a hollowed out squash) but eventually settled on a simple frame made from wooden stir sticks that I happened to have in my “craft drawer of doom”. A little bit of glue and some nails and it was all ready to go! 

After a short walk through the community forest I happened upon the perfect spot to hang my bird feeder,  a nice patch of bright green moss blanketed the floor underneath the tree and some branches provided a natural resting spot so that I didn’t have to worry too much about it falling down if a large bird happened to sneak a bite. After putting up the feeder, I dished out a nice meal of sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, raisins, dried cherries, walnuts and some chopped up almonds. I’m hoping the birds like it!

Materials: wooden stir sticks (or popsicle sticks), glue, nails, bird feed
Cost: $0
Time: 30 minutes

Leave a Reply

