Day 18 – Salt and Pepper Shakers

Just last night I thought to myself “I don’t think I’m really challenging myself enough with project.” Well, I spoke too soon as I found myself quite frustrated trying to figure out to fashion myself a set of salt and pepper shakers today. It seemed easy enough but the actual logistics weren’t really working the way I thought they would and I was having a hard time figuring out how to make my vision become tangible.

So I went for a walk. And what did I see on my walk? A recycling bin. And with that, inspiration struck and I decided that I would make “recycling bin” salt and pepper shakers. After a quick brainstorming session ( a digging through my craft supplies to find a pair of mini-corks) I began construction with polymer clay and within a few minutes I had a nice set of shakers that were ready for the oven! Once they baked for 30 minutes, I painted the recycling logo on them, sprayed them with a sealant and put the corks in the bottoms and *bam* done. If you can’t see in the photo, you pour the S&P out of the little opening in the lid of the can.

.

Materials: Polymer clay, mini-cork, paint
Cost: $0
Time: 1 hour

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessicajorgensen
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 18:18:46

    These are cute! Now you know that when you need genius to strike, simply go for a walk.

    Reply

  2. Annalise
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:38:44

    These are awesome!!! I so must make myself some salt and pepper shakers. Now, where does the mini-cork go though?

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 16:07:38

    teeheheheh these are fun!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

