Day 25 – Beet Burgers

If you know me, then you know that my favourite vegetable is the almighty Beet. I love it because it’s what I think the earth tastes like. It has a certain taste that you can’t actually put a name to. I love ’em and I love trying different versions as well, why just this year I’ve had white beets, candy cane striped beets, golden beets…all delicious.

So you can imagine my delight when I stumbled upon a recipe for Beet Veggie Burgers earlier today. I’ve made burgers by hand before (lentils and rice) but this recipe intruiged me because of the heavy use of my favourite veggie.

Now I know that photographed they look like raw hamburger but trust me, they were tasty with a little spicy kick at the end. I warn you though, if you’re anything like me you will have red beet stains on every available surface after making these!

Recipe is from LucidFood.com

 

Recipe: Beet Cakes

 Makes 8 cakes

½ cup brown rice

1 cup water

Canola oil

1 onion, sliced thin

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

¼ teaspoon cayenne

1 large beet, grated

Salt

Place brown rice, water, a dash of oil and a dash of salt in a pot. Cover and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 50 minutes. Remove from the heat and let stand 10 minutes. Fluff with a fork and set aside.

Heat a sautée pan over high heat and add a few tablespoons of oil, followed by the onions. After the first minute, reduce the heat to medium and continue cooking  until the onions are caramelized, stirring often, 5-7 minutes. Add the paprika, cayenne, and 1 teaspoon salt, and remove from the heat. Cool to room temperature and set aside.

Place the rice, onions, and 1 cup of the beets in the bowl of a food processor. Process until the mixture forms a thick puree, about a minute. You may need to stop and scrape down the sides of the bowl a few times.

Combine the puree with the remaining beets, mixing thoroughly with your hands. Use a 1/3-cup measure to divide the dough into 8 balls, and shape the balls into patties. Heat a skillet over medium high heat. Add a little oil and cook the cakes for 4-5 minutes on each side, until they form a light crust. Season each side with a little salt as they cook. Serve hot.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ten-Steps-Left-Of-Centre
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 23:43:11

    Oh wow! These look delicious! I’m so happy someone else thinks beets taste like the earth! My mother always stared at me when I said that.

    Reply

  2. Leanne
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 10:43:34

    I have an extremely large bag of beets at my house…they arent very happy at the moment.. they want to be consumed…. and this will be just the recipe!

    Reply

  3. Leanne
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 16:57:58

    I made these this evening…. sooooooooooo great!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

