Day 27 – Chocolate Cake

What better way to celebrate an anniversary (or birthday, or a monday) than with chocolate cake? Okay, I’ll fess up, I’m not much of a chocolate fan but even I am obsessed with how good this chocolate cake turned out!

I tend to be a hit and miss kind of a baker, sometimes I make something and it turns out beautifully and sometimes I make the exact same thing and it turns out horribly, thankfully this cake recipe was pretty easy and didn’t leave much room for error, the only addition I needed was to add an extra 15 minutes onto the baking time since it was still at “pudding” stage when I tested it.

The icing however was modified quite a bit, the recipe I found called for 3 1/2 cups of icing sugar (holy crap!) so I cut it down to 3/4 of a cup and added a bit more cocoa and it turned out beautifully, almost like chocolate pudding and not overly sweet either.

I wish that I could package this cake up and mail to all of you!

Cake recipe is:

CHOCOLATE CAKE

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup cold brewed coffee
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vinegar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center and pour in the eggs, coffee, milk, oil and vinegar. Mix until smooth, batter will be thin. Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool

Icing (I modified it to 3/4 cup of sugar and 3/4 cup of cocoa)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup margarine, melted
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, beat margarine and cocoa together until combined. Add milk and vanilla; beat until smooth. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar until desired consistency is achieved. Adjust with more milk or confectioners’ sugar if necessary.
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginn
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 02:33:07

    Vinegar and coffee in a cake sounds weird, but I’m sure it was delicious.

    Reply

  2. An Huy
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 06:29:21

    I think this is what I need for a moment 🙂
    I’m reading your progress everyday, trust me. It’s only that I’m not in the “social mood” recently so I don’t comment very much as before. The stress broke me down and I turned into a “run away from anybody” kind of person.
    Anyway, I’m a chocolate lover so I can’t resist the temptation here 🙂

    PAn~

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Day 35 – Revenge of the Cupcakes « The Made Project

Leave a Reply

