Day 35 – Revenge of the Cupcakes

Not one to be dismayed by a simple recipe, I decided to replay yesterday’s project and attempt cupcakes again. Now to be honest I did cheat a little bit and used the chocolate cake recipe I used last week only modified to fit the constraints of a cupcake. As expected, the cupcakes turned out insanely good, very moist and fluffy although the first batch I made I was quite generous and filled them too much with batter which resulted in a conglomerate of cupcake tops when they finished baking.  The second batch was just right with little domes of chocolate goodness peeking out over the tops of the liners.

I have yet to find the ideal icing/frosting recipe but the one I did end up using which was a combination of one I found on allrecipes.com and some improvisation when it turned out too runny ended up working pretty well, it’s just a shame that I kind of dropped the two that I was photographing for the blog and smooshed the icing…ah well, it’s the taste that counts right?

There is a reason why I’ve gone cupcake crazy these last two days but I’m going to keep it under wraps for a few more days, then I’ll reveal why I made the cupcakes in the first place (besides to eat them!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annalise
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:21:33

    Yum! Those look delicious!

    I’ve also found in my experience that cake batter makes fantastic cupcakes (and that brownie recipes make great cakes!).

    Reply

  2. Annalise
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 15:45:33

    By the way, I have two awesome vegan recipes I should give you (either generally, or for use in the project): Aloo Dahl (potato and lentil curry) and falafels. Yum! Let me know if you want them. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

