Day 38 – Vegan Eggplant ‘Parmesan’ Soup

Back when our farmer’s market was in full swing and I was making the weekly trek every Saturday, I made myself a goal to purchase one item a week that I had never tried before (or rarely buy). After our market closed for the season I decided to continue this goal when I went to the grocery store each week. Last week I picked up a local eggplant without having any idea of what to do with it. Each time I looked at it in the fridge, I felt a bit guilty since I wasn’t sure how to prepare it.

Today I decided that this eggplant would fulfill it’s destiny and that I would finally look for a worthy recipe to use on it.  It was a tad chilly today so I looked up soups that featured Eggplant and also used the ingredients I had in the fridge as I didn’t want to have to go and buy any. I found this recipe for a veganized version of Eggplant Parmesan Soup and I was intruiged!

For as basic as the soup is, it’s quite tasty and even thick enough to use as a pasta sauce if you’re so inclined.

*and yes I know that the addition of the goldfish crackers makes this non-vegan but i didn’t have croutons*

Recipe from Vegalicious.org
Ingredients:

  • 1 med eggplant, cut into small cubes
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 vegetable bouillon cube
  • 1-2 tablespoon Italian seasonings
  • juice of 1/2 lime or lemon
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Italian seasoned croutons

Directions:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan, add the onions and begin to saute.
  2. As the onions begin to soften, add the eggplant and minced garlic and saute until the eggplant is soft and golden brown.
  3. Put all of the sauteed vegetables into a large pot.
  4. Add the crushed tomatoes, cup of water and vegetable bouillon.
  5. Cook until the vegetables are soft.
  6. Add the Italian seasonings and nutritional yeast.
  7. Squeeze the lime or lemon juice into the soup.
  8. Season to taste with salt and pepper and possibly more Italian herbs.
  9. Garnish with Italian croutons.
Leave a Reply

