Day 43 – Coffee Mug Cat

I honestly don’t know where this idea came from, I was browsing Etsy and I came up with the idea to make this little cat that hangs off the edge of a coffee cup. Then I realized that this cat could have a purpose (who doesn’t love crafts that actually DO something?).  This is going to sound kind of lame but one of my biggest pet peeves is when I drink tea and pour in the hot water and the tea bag goes all funky and then pulls in the little tag/string into the water. I usually drink Yogi Tea and I like to keep the little fortunes that come with the bag but it’s hard to save them when they’re floating around in your mug. So….this cat actually saves the tea tags! You just slip the string into the little curl of it’s tail and it keeps it from getting pulled into the water!
Lame, maybe. Helpful? Yes!

Materials: Polymer Clay
Cost: $0
Time: 10 minutes

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginn
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 13:21:54

    I love it! I also hate getting the tag in the water, so I don’t think it’s a lame idea hehe

    Reply

  2. Ten-Steps-Left-Of-Centre
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 18:01:16

    Oh my goodness! That is so clever! I could really use one of those, good thinking, Joel!

    Reply

  3. Keely
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 19:06:18

    Yay Joel – this is a great idea! And so full of squee ; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

