Day 52/53 – Weekend Catch-Up Double Post!

Yup, I missed a couple days of posting (big suprise!) but I did make some cool things in the past couple days so that makes up for my lack of posting. Today’s a nice little double post catch-up so that I can get back on track for this week since I have a special theme week coming up!

First up is Friday’s project which were these zombie hands. Originally they were made to be put into a flowerpot so that it looked like a tiny zombie was resurfacing but then I realized that it would be funny to stick these wherever I could, like on this pumpkin and make everything zombiefied!

On Saturday I was craving something sweet/munchable so I decided to use up my last can of pumpkin and make some pumpkin cookies. I used this recipe from the blog ” Fat Free Vegan”.  I made a few modifications to the recipe and I think that’s why my cookies didn’t turn out so good. They taste great, but the texture is rather chewy…maybe pumpkin doesn’t  belong in cookies 😦

Here’s the recipe (no picture as they don’t photograph particularly well)

Fat-Free Pumpkin Cookies

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I used white whole wheat flour)
1/2 cup unbleached flour
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup agave nectar
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
2/3 cup okara (or 8 ounces firm tofu, blended in a food processor until smooth)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon turbinado sugar — or icing, below

Preheat oven to 375F.

Mix the flours, oats, baking soda, spices, and salt in a mixing bowl. Mix the agave nectar, pumpkin, okara (tofu), and vanilla in another bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir just until well-blended. Do not over-stir.

Use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to drop rounded tablespoons of dough at least two inches apart on a baking sheet lined with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Flatten each cookie slightly with a fork. Sprinkle with turbinado sugar, if desired. Bake for 10-16 minutes or until edges are golden and middles seem done. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring each cookie to a wire rack. Allow to cool completely before serving.

Leave a Reply

