Days: 62/63/64

I will get the hang of posting on time, I swear I will!!  I think part of the problem for me is that I’m not planning ahead enough, I wait until the last-minute to make something and by the time I’m done making it, it’s late and I don’t feel like writing about it. Tomorrow, I’m doing some project research to get some solid ideas, feel free to give me some suggestions!

Day 62: Peanut Butter Cookies
No picture for these ones because…well…I ate them all. Not all of them at once, but by today (Thursday) the cookies I made on Monday were all gone save for a few crumbs, which do not photograph well!

The cookies are from a recipe by my absolute favourite cookbook author, Sarah Kramer. Her vegan cookbooks are absolutely amazing and I think that everyone should own one, even if you aren’t a vegan/vegetarian. I have made recipes from her books that have fooled non-vegans and have given so many copies of recipes that I feel I’m working as a book promoter! Sarah is not only an amazing author but a really kind and funny person and is always ready to answer a question…I even got a shout out on her blog for a photo I took inspired by her 🙂

You should definitely go and check out her books, you’ll be impressed!

Day 63: Record Bowls


Welcome to quite possibly the simplest craft in the history of crafting. I made a bunch of these a few years ago to give as part of christmas gifts, instead of putting gifts in boxes I put them in these bowls…functional wrapping! The people I gave them to really liked them and the people I didn’t give them to were mad that they didn’t get one! These bowls are recycling at it’s finest, they can be customized and each one is just a little bit different from the next. 

To begin with you need the following:
– used record (thrift stores are great for old records usually .25 cents)
– metal bowl
– larger bowl

Directions:
1. Turn your oven on a low temperature, mine was on about 275 degrees.
2. Place your metal bowl open side down onto the oven rack (you can put it onto a cookie sheet to keep it stable).  Place your record on the bowl , resting it on the bottom of the bowl.
3. Let the record start to get malleable, this should only take a few minutes. You don’t want it to become too soft,  so keep a close eye on it. Once it starts to get droopy, carefully take it out (it’s not hot)
4.  Place the record immediately inside the larger bowl, the record will start to bend and make really neat looking waves to try to fit into the bowl. It will cool fast (5 seconds or so) so you need to be quick. If you don’t like the results you can simply place it back in the oven and start again.

Day 64:  Camera Ornament
So today marks the end of a year-long project for me, a self-portrait a day for 365 days. I had completed a 365 photo project last year and it was the reason I started to get interested in photography and photo manipulations. I decided last September to do another year and over the course of the last 14 months (I took 2 months off to do Otesha) I took a photo a day, never missing one.

It was quite the learning process, I learned a lot about photography, about Photoshop, about design, and even about myself. I was able to meet some amazing people through Flickr.com and I’m lucky enough to call many of them good friends. Without my involvement in this project and with Flickr I wouldn’t have been able to go on my trip with The Otesha Project, as I raised the majority of my money through sales of my photo prints.

Taking a photo of yourself every day for a year can be seen as narcissistic or vain or weird but in reality it’s an amazing opportunity to learn about photography and how to use a camera and I really recommend it to anyone looking for a challenge.

With that, I decided to mark this occasion with a small ornament to hang above my desk. A little clay replica of my trusty camera 🙂

Leave a Reply

