Day 76 – ATC (Artist Trading Cards)

according to artisttradingcards.org  an ATC’s (or Artist Trading Cards) are 3.5 in x 2.5 in artworks made to be traded in person or by correspondence. ATCs were first traded in North America at The New Gallery in Calgary, Alberta on September 27, 1997.

I’ve heard of them before, mostly from my days as a regular member of Craftster.org and I’d always been impressed by the amazing quality of work that artists can fit onto such a small canvas. ATC’s are pretty much a tiny display for whatever medium you want to use. Collage, paint, markers, wire whatever you like! It’s almost like a cross between scrapbooking and art.

I was reinspired to try making some after receiving a really nice ATC from Jessica, it was cute in it’s design and I immedately gathered some materials and recycled some old playing cards into my own ATCs to mail away 🙂

Materials:  playing cards, paper, stickers, glue, double sided foam tape
Cost: $0
Time: 30 minutes or so

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 23:09:47

    Oh nooo! I forgot to include ATC materials. That’s an important part. I also had a little prize I forgot to give you. Oh well, I’ll have to stick it in the next letter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

