Days 112-117

Wow, how fast a week goes by. With all the hustle and bustle of Christmas I didn’t have a chance to post any projects in the last few days and it amazed me when I signed in to see how many days had really passed me by!

I hope you all had a great christmas and that you enjoyed the company of family and friends. I had a great holiday and I was really happy with the gifts that I made and gave out. I’ve always wanted to do a mostly handmade christmas and I think that by the time next christmas rolls around I’ll be ready to give it 100% (plus with this project I’ll have a lot of time to get ready!)

So here is a brief rundown of all the projects I made in the last 6 days.

Day 112 – Santa Magnet
I wish that I had a picture for this one but sadly I don’t. It was a really neat santa shaped magnet with his beard and hat forming a crescent shape. Sadly the magnets that I glued onto the back weren’t quite strong enough and it crashed to the floor after I gave it to my mom as part of her present….oops.

Day 113 – Norweigan Stamp Ornament
I saw a post on Craftgossip.com (one of my go-to blogs for inspiration) that showed how to make these really cool postage stamp type coasters and I thought that they would actually make really cool ornaments. It was quite simple actually, I just searched for some cool looking postage stamps and then enlarged them and then flipped them so the text was backwards. Then I printed the stamp image onto some fabric transfer paper and then ironed it onto a square of cotton fabric. Then I stitched together the layers of cotton fabric, white felt, and red felt and used some cool scissors to trim the edges to look like a stamp. You should try this one out for sure!

Day 114 – Blob Ornament
My final christmas ornament was a subtle request from Scott who while playing the Nintendo Wii game “De Blob”  exclaimed “I want one, I want a little blob guy.” Instantly I knew that I’d be making him a christmas ornament and sure enough I did! I used yellow polymer clay and then once it had been baked I glued it onto a snowflake shaped wood piece that I had painted yellow. Then I just strung a piece of string through it so that it hangs on the tree!

Day 115 – Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls
I’ve been craving these Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls ever since I made them back in October so I decided that Christmas Day would be the prime opportunity to make them again! Usually my mom makes the cinnamon buns for Christmas brunch but I snuck my way in and claimed the spot! They turned out great and nobody even knew they were vegan….mwahaha.

Day 116 and 117

My Sketchbook Project submission deadline  is looming and what I once thought of as “plenty of time” has quickly diminished into “no time at all” which means that for then next few days I’ll be doing ALOT of drawing. Luckily I have most of the ideas planned out, I just need to do the work!

Here are two of the latest additions to my project in which I asked people “What Is Your Happiest Thought?”

Tyler answered:  The steam from a cup of coffee shared with a friend as you have a great conversation.


Kelly answered: my happiest moments are when I have the offspring home, or when I’m playing my sports.  

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Annalise
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:21:16

    I love the De Blob ornament… he’s adorable! Now I want one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

