Day 170/171

Day 170:  Curried Cauliflower

I don’t know about you, but I’m the type of grocery shopper that picks up random things and then forgets about them once they reside in the fridge. Thus was the case of the cauliflower that I had to use up and had no idea what to do with. After a quick search, I found this recipe and the rest is tasty tasty history! This is one recipe that makes a lot but really tastes better the next day!

*the photo isn’t mine, we ate ours too quickly!*

Recipe:

Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry
Ingredients:
1 tablespoon oil
1 onion (chopped)
2 tablespoons curry powder
1 tablespoon garlic (chopped)
1 tablespoon ginger (chopped)
1 (14 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon chili sauce (optional)
1 head cauliflower (cut into florets)
1 (19 once) can chickpeas (rinsed and drained)
1 cup water
1/2 pound green beans (trimmed and sliced into 1 inch long pieces)
salt to taste
1/4 cup cilantro (chopped)

Directions
1. Heat the oil in a large pan.
2. Add the onion and curry powder and cook until the onion is tender, about 5-7 minutes.
3. Add the garlic and ginger and cook until fragrant, about a minute.
4. Add the tomatoes, chili sauce, cauliflower, chickpeas and water and and bring to a boil.
5. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, until the cauliflower is tender, about 10-15 minutes.
6. Add the green beans and cook until they are just tender and still crisp, about 3-5 minutes.
7. Serve on brown rice and garnish with cilantro.

Day 171 – Gnome Stamp
I know that I made a few stamps over the course of this project but so far each one was made for a distinct purpose and so is this Gnome one. I’m setting myself a goal to have my Etsy shop up and running by end of March, hopefully getting a lot accomplished over spring break. I think that my “mascot” will be a gnome and with that said I needed a stamp to add to my envelopes and on the back of the handmade cards I’ll be making.

I used a small piece of speedball rubber and it turned out pretty good although I couldn’t find my carving tool so I used a cutting tool which made my lines not perfect but I still like how it turned out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon Jackson
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 21:15:38

    i LOVE the gnome stamp!!!!
    “i see you drivin’ round town with the Gnome i love and i’m like…”

    Reply

  2. jennaebertphoto
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 11:04:26

    OMG! The gnome stamp is soooo cute! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Annalise
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 17:20:37

    Bulk Comment as I’ve just caught myself up on about a month of posts….

    Your crafts and bits and bobs are AMAZING! (I not so secretly hope you will send me something of the sort for a birthday or Christmas present.) I adore the paperbag cookbook, and pretty much everything you make (I think I’m going to try the ginger cookies recipe next time I bake).

    Anyway, just wanted to remind you how awesome your projects are, and that I’m still waiting for an update email from you! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

