Day 172/173

I swear that this isn’t becomming a food blog,  but it just seems like all I have time for lately is to make food and eat it, let alone make anything else! I suppose that happens when the start of running season takes over and I find myself trying to get in at least 30km in during the week. Here are some of the tasty items I made recently:

Day 172
Cranberry Applesauce
I’m obsessed with apples. I buy a 5 pound bag once a week and usually I can make my way through most of it before it’s time for more but this week I had a lot left over which left me with two options. Pie or applesauce.  I chose sauce since I didn’t want to make pastry dough 🙂

Ingredients:
6-7 apples (or however many you have)
sugar (dependant on sweetness level preferred)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1.5 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup – 1 cup cranberries

Directions:
Place peeled and chopped apples in a large pot, add enough water to just barely cover the apples. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil, once boiled reduce heat and stir often until the apples and cranberries are soft and saucey.

Day 173 –
Chocolate Chip Bar

Something about baking just seems to make me feel relaxed. I like mixing things in a bowl without much measurement and then opening the oven door with a tasty finished product, it’s one of those things that I have to do at least once or twice a week. I’ve been on a bit of cookie binge lately and I thought I would mix it up with a recipe from Sarah Kramer’s books for Chocolate Chip Bars.

Here’s a similar recipe:

http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-chocolate-chip-bars-280193\

Ingredients

  •  
    • 3 1/2 cups flour
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 1/2 cups sugar
    • 1 cup oil
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    • 1 cup soymilk
    • 1 1/2 cups semisweet vegan chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar.
  3. Add the oil, vanilla, milk and chocolate chips and mix together gently.
  4. Pour mixture into a lightly oiled 9×13 inch pan and bake for 25-30 minutes.
  5. Test with a toothpick for doneness.
  6. Let cool 10 minutes before cutting into bars.

Leave a Reply

