Day 201 – Molasses Cookies

It’s been a while since I’ve last posted and I admit it was because for about a week, I had decided that I was finished with this project. I had no inspiration, no energy and no interest in making anything. I put off trying to make anything and all but abandoned this blog until yesterday when I realized….”hey, I miss my blog.”  I think after 200 projects it just became a bit stagnant and I wasn’t putting in as much as I could have been and therefor the payoff wasn’t really fulfilling. I’m hoping that after my mini-hiatus I’ll be able to finish out my project, 164 more posts and feel happy that I accomplished this goal.

To celebrate my return to Project Made, I decided to make some Ginger Molasses Cookies.  These are so moist and soft and go perfectly with some vanilla almond milk.

 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp ginger powder
1 Tbsp fresh grated ginger
1/4+ cup water (see notes)
1/4 – 1/3 cup molasses
1/3 cup melted vegan buttery spread
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Soften the vegan butter spread in the microwave. Set aside.

3. In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, ginger powder, cinnamon, salt, baking soda/powder. Mix well.

4. In a separate bowl, combine the softened buttery spread, molasses, vanilla extract, grated ginger and water.

5. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and stir by hand well until all the ingredients are blended into a moist ball of dough. The dough will seem dry at first, but keep stirring and folding and it will come together. If needed add in extra water one spoonful at a time until the dough consistency is reached.

6. If you want perfectly shaped ginger cookies, you can freeze the dough for 1/2 hour then roll out the dough to cookie cutter circle shapes for baking. Or you can simply roll the dough into moist balls, dip in a coating of sugar and bake. I tried both versions and was pleased with both. (If you want crunchier, thinner Gingersnaps – roll the dough out thin, cut into thin circle shapes and bake.)

7. Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

